top of page

The FT/OppenheimerFunds Emerging Voices Awards

The FT/OppenheimerFunds Emerging Voices Awards will recognise artistic talent in three categories – fiction literature, film-making and art across more than 100 emerging market nations. The judges aim to reward those whose work shows outstanding talent and in some way furthers understanding of their region. Finalists will be flown to attend a gala awards ceremony taking place at the New York Public Library on 26 September 2016. The winner in each category will receive a prize award of $40,000 and will be featured in a post event magazine and videos profiled on Shortlisted runners up will also receive $5,000.

Key dates

FEB 01 Awards open for submissions

MAY 03 Closing date for submissions

JUN 06 Longlist announced

AUG 05 Finalists announced

SEP 26 Awards ceremony - Winners announced

SEP 27 Magazine published in FT andwinners announced on

The Award will be presented to the author of a published work of fiction in English or published in English translation who is a national or passport holder of one of the eligible Asia-Pacific countries. The book must be a minimum of 20,000 words long and be written by a national or passport holder of one of the eligible countries of Asia-Pacific. Submissions are invited from all publishers worldwide. A selection of short stories or poems is not eligible. Self-published works will not be accepted for entry. The works must be published for the first time in the English language, or English translation between 1 January, 2015 and 23 September 2016. Books may be in print or digital form, or both. We ask that each publisher submits no more than three works.

Passport holders from the following countries are eligible to enter the fiction award: Afghanistan, American Samoa, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Bangladesh, Bhutan, Cambodia, China, Fiji, Georgia, India, Indonesia, Kazakhstan, Kiribati, Korea, Dem. Rep., Kyrgyz Republic, Lao PDR, Malaysia, Maldives, Marshall Islands, Micronesia, Fed. Sts.,Mongolia, Myanmar, Nepal, Pakistan, Palau, Papua New Guinea, Philippines, Samoa,Solomon Islands, Sri Lanka, Tajikistan, Thailand, Timor-Leste, Tonga, Turkey, Turkmenistan, Tuvalu, Uzbekistan, Vanuatu, Vietnam.

Submissions are now being accepted online. For more information and to submit or nominate someone go to:

Featured Posts
bottom of page